Libraries News Round-up: 16 June

Libraries Taskforce: 15 June Income generation for public libraries With comments, and response made on behalf of the Libraries Taskforce. At least one comment still awaiting moderation. https://librariestaskforce.blog.gov.uk/2017/06/15/income-generation-for-public-libraries/ Northern Echo: 16…

Libraries News Round-up: 15 June

Stratford Upon Avon Herald: 15 June Date set for Stratford Library re-opening  http://www.stratford-herald.com/72035-date-set-stratford-library-re-opening.html Stratford Observer: 15 June New look library soon to be unveiled https://stratfordobserver.co.uk/news/new-look-library-soon-to-be-unveiled/ The Courier: 15 June Dundee…

Libraries News Round-up: 14 June

Fife Today: 14 June Leading tenants’ group brand new library hub a “disgrace” http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/news/politics/leading-tenants-group-brand-new-library-hub-a-disgrace-1-4474559 Derby Telegraph: 14 June Job Centre Plus and library set to be part of new-look Derby…

Libraries News Round-up: 5 June

The Bookseller: 5 June Riddell urges next government to address children's rights http://www.thebookseller.com/news/riddell-urges-next-government-address-childrens-rights-issues-564186 Bath Chronicle: 5 June Letter: 'Appalled' at treatment of fellow Save Bath Library campaigners http://www.bathchronicle.co.uk/news/bath-news/letter-appalled-treatment-fellow-save-91336 York Press:…

Libraries News Round-up: 1 June

The Guardian: 1 June UK desperately needs new volunteers to fill yawning gaps in public services https://www.theguardian.com/voluntary-sector-network/2017/jun/01/volunteers-week-volunteering-austerity-cuts ITV News: 1 June Funding cuts threaten South Tyneside libraries http://www.itv.com/news/tyne-tees/2017-06-01/funding-cuts-threaten-south-tyneside-libraries/ Chronicle Live:…

Libraries News Round-up: 28 May

Lancashire Evening Post: 28 May Tory pledge to reopen all county’s shut-down libraries http://www.lep.co.uk/your-lancashire/preston/tory-pledge-to-reopen-all-county-s-shut-down-libraries-1-8567137 Liverpool Echo: 28 May Warrington North constituency candidates for General Election 2017 Candidate for Greens has…

Libraries News Round-up: 26 May

Blackpool Gazette: 26 MayLytham Library hope leads to new friends grouphttp://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/news/lytham-library-hope-leads-to-new-friends-group-1-8564102Borehamwood Times: 26 MayBarnet | FoI data shows increased PR spending by Barnet Council which could have been spent on librarieshttp://www.borehamwoodtimes.co.uk/news/15311229.FoI_data_shows_increased_PR_spending/…

Libraries News Round-up: 25 May

Hartlepool Mail: 25 May Durham | Council fits up leisure centre for new library http://www.hartlepoolmail.co.uk/news/council-fits-up-leisure-centre-for-new-library-1-8560884 Northumberland Gazette: 25 May LIBRARY: Funding must be increased 'It appears that the reason for the…

Libraries News Round-up: 24 May

Ham & High: 24 May Haringey | Fears grow in Highgate over 110-year-old library’s future home http://www.hamhigh.co.uk/news/heritage/fears-grow-in-highgate-over-110-year-old-library-s-future-home-1-5032766 North Somerset Times: 24 May Library jobs axed as North Somerset Council make…

Libraries News Round-up: 19 May

Speak Up for Libraries: 19 May Manifesto for Libraries for the General Election 2017 http://speakupforlibraries.org/speakupforlibraries/manifesto-for-libraries-for-the-general-election-2017/ Shields Gazette: 19 May South Tyneside Council gives go-ahead for library plans consultation http://www.shieldsgazette.com/news/south-tyneside-council-gives-go-ahead-for-library-plans-consultation-1-8550290 Northern…

Libraries News Round-up: 18 May

Shields Gazette: 18 May See protesters lobby South Tyneside Council over library proposal http://www.shieldsgazette.com/news/see-protesters-lobby-south-tyneside-council-over-library-proposal-1-8548392 Bury Times: 18 May Hope for Bury youth group B:easties as partners meet to save Topping…

Libraries News Round-up: 17 May

PRIVATE EYE: Issue No. 1444 Library News (p.33) | Surrey 'BACK in 2011, Surrey councillors discussed turning ten county libraries into community partnered libraries (CPL).  This was civic-speak for getting rid…

Libraries News Round-up: 16 May

Shields Gazette: 15 May Union outrage over plans for community groups to run South Tyneside libraries http://www.shieldsgazette.com/news/union-outrage-over-plans-for-community-groups-to-run-south-tyneside-libraries-1-8541352 BBC News: 16 May Hay Festival cash keeps town library open  http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-mid-wales-39930723 West…

Libraries News Round-up: 14 May

Sun FM: 14 May New chapter for Sunderland Libraries https://www.sun-fm.com/news/local/2288575/new-chapter-for-sunderland-libraries/ Shiny Shiny: 14 May Are digital libraries the future for children’s reading? Library of Miss Gadish launches Paid for app,…

Posts navigation